14th Congress

The Morphing of the Cybercrime Prevention Act

In the 13th Congress (2004-2007), at least four measures were filed to regulate and penalize cybercrime: House Bills No. 1246, 2093, 2528 and 3777, which were authored by Representatives Eric Singson, Amado Espino Jr., Nanette Castelo Daza, and Harlin Abayon, respectively.

In the 14th Congress, at least 10 similar House bills were filed.

House of Representatives

Sept. 9, 2009
House Bill No. 6794 titled “An Act Defining Cybercrime, Providing for Prevention, Suppression, and Imposition of Penalties Therefor, and for Other Purposes” was referred to the Committee on Rules on Sept. 9, 2009.

On the same day, Committee Report No. 2342 was submitted by the Committees on Information and Communications Technology and Appropriations, recommending the bill’s approval.

H.B. No. 6794 substituted House Bills Nos. 00190, 01323, 02196, 03117, 03190, 03249, 05140, 05475, and 05701.

Sept. 15, 2009
The list of the bill’s authors was finalized.

Nov. 13, 2009
A press release published on the House of Representatives’ website cited that lawmakers moved to fast track the approval of the bill. Former Ilocos Sur Rep. Eric D. Singson, one of the bill’s main authors, was also cited saying that plenary discussions on the measure had already started.

Nov. 18, 2009
The bill was approved on second dreading

Remarks on the History of the Bill: “On Nov. 18, 2009, the Body approved to consider the Explanatory Note of the Bill as the sponsorship remarks on the measure; terminated the period of sponsorship and debate; terminated the period of amendments and approved the same on Second Reading.”

Jan. 18, 2010
The bill was approved by the House on third reading with 175 “Yeas” and 1 “Nay.”

Jan. 20, 2010
The bill was transmitted to and received by the Senate.

H.B. No. 6794 or the “Cybercrime Prevention Act Of 2009” had Rep. Eric D. Singson as its principal author, and Rep. Juan Edgardo M. Angara, Rep. Raul V. Del Mar, Rep. Reylina G. Nicolas, Rep. Marcelino R. Teodoro, Rep. Thelma Z. Almario, Rep. Joseph A. Santiago, Rep. Eduardo Nonato N. Joson, Rep. Carmelo F. Lazatin, Rep. Eufrocino M. Codilla Sr., Rep. Isidro T. Ungab, Rep. Roque R. Ablan Jr., Rep. Cynthia A. Villar, Rep. Narciso D. Santiago III, Rep. Orlando B. Fua, Rep. Edgardo M. Chatto, Rep. Reno G. Lim, Rep. Junie E. Cua, Rep. Amelita C. Villarosa, and Rep. Prospero C. Nograles as its co-authors.


Dec. 7, 2009
Senate Bill No. 3553, H.B. No. 6794’s counterpart bill at the Senate, was prepared and submitted jointly by the Committees on Science and Technology, Constitutional Amendments, Revision of Codes and Laws, Justice and Human Rights, and Finance with Senators Jinggoy P. Ejercito-Estrada, Loren B. Legarda, Miriam Defensor Santiago, Manny Villar, Mar Roxas, Antonio F. Trillanes IV, Juan Ponce Enrile, Lito Lapid, Francis Escudero, and Edgardo J. Angara as authors per Committee Report No. 770.

Committee Report No. 770 also recommended the bill’s approval in consolidation of S.B. Nos. 653, 1377, 1626, 1844, 2053, 2176, 2347, 2405, 2412, 2480, 3023, 3177, 3213, taking into consideration S.R. Nos. 578, 915, 960 and 1263.

Committee Report Calendared for Ordinary Business

Jan. 20, 2010
Transferred from Ordinary Business to Special Order.

Senator Angara delivered a sponsorship speech.

Senator Gordon delivered a co-sponsorship speech.

Senator Zubiri was also made co-author and co-sponsor of the bill.

Jan 27, 2010
S.B. No. 3553 was certified by former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo for its immediate enactment on Jan. 27, 2010. But it remained pending on second reading.


Both H.B. No. 6794 and S.B. No. 3553 did not include libel as a “cybercrime offense” and did not enroll the double penalty clause.


Posted in: Latest Stories, Stories