FFFJ Mission

The 30 Media Martyrs
of Maguindanao

THERE WERE 30 and not just 27 reporters and media workers who were killed in a manner brutal beyond description in Maguindanao, last Monday November 23.

However, another journalist, Jolito Evardo of UNTV General Santos City has not been accounted for as of presstime.

The 30 media workers comprise more than half of the 57 confirmed casualties of what is now known as the Maguindanao Massacre, according to a list compiled and verified by the Humanitarian and Fact-Finding Mission of the Freedom Fund for Filipino Journalists (FFFJ), a network of independent media organizations, including the PCIJ.

Formed in 2001, the FFFJ provides financial assistance to the families of slain journalists, as well as legal support in the prosecution of their cases. Its founding members are the PCIJ, Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility, Center for Community Journalism and Development, Philippine Press Institute, Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster ng Pilipinas, and Philippine News.

The FFFJ Mission was conducted in partnership with the National Union of Journalists of the Philippines (NUJP), Mindanews, and the Free Legal Assistance Group and its affiliate Union of People’s Lawyers for Mindanao, which lost two female members in the Maguindanao massacre,

The FFFJ Mission arrived in Mindanao two days after the massacre to extend financial assistance to the victims, witnesses and their families, as well as to conduct independent inquiry and documentation of the massacre. The FFFJ report will be released this week.

Dr. Raquel Fortun was named expert consultant of the Commission on Human Rights, in partnership with the FFFJ, to assist in Maguindanao, She was assisted by the FFFJ team.

As verified by the FFFJ mission, what follows is a complete list of the 30 Media Martyrs of Maguindanao:

1. Adolfo, Benjie, Gold Star Daily, Koronadal City

2. Araneta, Henry, Radio DZRH, General Santos City

3. Arriola, Mark Gilbert “Mac-Mac,” UNTV, General Santos City

4. Bataluna, Rubello, Gold Star Daily, Koronadal City

5. Betia, Arturo, Periodico Ini, General Santos City

6. Cabillo, Romeo Jimmy, Midland Review, Tacurong City

7. Cablitas, Marites, News Focus, General Santos City

8. Cachuela, Hannibal, Punto News, Koronadal City

9. Caniban, John, Periodico Ini, General Santos City

10. Dalmacio, Lea, Socsargen News, General Santos City

11. Decina, Noel, Periodico Ini, General Santos City

12. Dela Cruz, Gina, Saksi News, General Santos City

13. Dohillo, Eugene, UNTV, General Santos City

14. Duhay, Jhoy, Gold Star Daily, Tacurong City

15. Gatchalian, Santos, DXGO, Davao City

16. Legarte, Bienvenido, Jr., Prontiera News, Koronadal City

17. Lupogan, Lindo, Mindanao Daily Gazette, Davao City

18. Maravilla, Ernesto “Bart,” Bombo Radyo, Koronadal City

19. Merisco, Rey, Periodico Ini, Koronadal City

20. Momay, Reynaldo “Bebot” Momay, Midland Review, Tacurong City

21. Montaño, Marife “Neneng,” Saksi News, General Santos City

22. Morales, Rosell, News Focus, General Santos City

23. Nuñez, Victor, UNTV, General Santos City

24. Perante, Ronnie, Gold Star Daily correspondent, Koronadal City

25. Parcon, Joel, Prontiera News, Koronadal City

26. Razon, Fernando “Rani,” Periodico Ini, General Santos City

27. Reblando, Alejandro “Bong,” Manila Bulletin, General Santos City

28. Salaysay, Napoleon, Mindanao Gazette, Cotabato City

29. Subang, Ian, Socsargen Today, General Santos City

30. Teodoro, Andres “Andy,” Central Mindanao Inquirer, Tacurong City

Still unaccounted for: Evardo, Jolito, UNTV General Santos City

The 30 media workers killed in Maguindanao bring to 134 the number of journalists killed in the Philippines since 1986.

Of the total, 74 cases or more than half, were recorded from 2001, or under the watch of President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo. – For the FFFJ, Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism, November 2009